Shared by IRPO–Shelby Bypass Segment Opening Tuesday

SHELBY – A new portion of the Shelby Bypass will open to drivers on Tuesday afternoon, weather permitting. The 5.6-mile segment extending from Peachtree Road to N.C. 226 is expected to open by 5 p.m.

Work on the $19 million contract started in April 2018. It included paving, grading and installing signals and overhead signs to this section that was already built out but needed final surfacing and other elements.

Another segment under construction between N.C. 226 and west of N.C. 150 is scheduled for completion in 2022. The final two sections are scheduled for construction in 2024, extending the bypass to west of Stony Point Road at U.S. 74 Business in Kings Mountain.

When complete, the 18.5-mile, four-lane divided bypass from east of Mooresboro to Kings Mountain will improve mobility through and around Shelby. The project will also improve safety by reducing congestion and crash rates on U.S. 74.

Motorists are encouraged to pay attention when approaching the work zone, obey the posted speed limit, and allow extra time to reach their destinations safely.

For real-time travel information, visit or follow NCDOT on social media.


RPO Meetings Postponed

The TCC and TAC meeting that were scheduled for March 31, 2020 at 10:30 AM and 1:00 PM, respectively have been postponed until April 15th, 2020. Both meetings will now be virtual meetings.

Please return to this post to see a Zoom invitation, which will be posted at least 7 days before the meeting. If you have questions, please call or email Karyl Fuller at 828.351.2331 or

TCC Meeting (staff): 10:30 AM on April 15, 2020

Meeting URL:

TAC Meeting (elected officials): 1:00 PM on April 15, 2020

Meeting URL:

Updated April 8, 2020.

Shared by IRPO–Take the NCDOT Great Trails State Survey and Online Map!

Share your thoughts on how shared-use paths can serve transportation purposes, providing connections between where people live, work and play.

Your responses will help to identify a network of shared-use paths and trails that connects​​​ every county in North Carolina.


Take the 10 Question Survey!

Or add your thoughts to the interactive Map!